History of WWF Mongolia | WWF

History of WWF Mongolia

1992-until present

© WWF Mongolia
© WWF Mongolia
WWF-Mongolia was established in 1992 by the invitation of the Government of Mongolia and later officially registered as branch of WWF-International. WWF-Mongolia is one of the most experienced conservation organizations in Mongolia and focuses its efforts on critical conservation issues in two of the world’s outstanding places for biodiversity conservation, the Altai Sayan Ecoregion (ASER) in Western Mongolia and Amur-Heilong Ecoregion Complex (AHEC) in Eastern Mongolia.
Over the past 25 years, WWF-Mongolia  implemented four 5 year conservation strategic programms and has grown to an organization with 22 highly experienced staff members located in head office in Ulaanbaatar and two branch offices; one in the city of Khovd of Khovd Aimag and a second one in Dadal soum of Khentii Aimag.